Press Releases

JEDCO Welcomes New Commissioners to Board

(AVONDALE, La) –The Jefferson Parish Economic Development Commission (JEDCO) is pleased to welcome several new faces to its Board of Commissioners in 2016. Over the last several months, JEDCO has received five new appointments to the Board. Chaired by long-time JEDCO Board Member, Mark Madderra, the JEDCO Board works closely with the JEDCO staff to achieve the organization’s mission of attracting, retaining, and expanding business in Jefferson Parish. Individuals who serve on the JEDCO Board represent area business organizations and parish leaders.

Stephen Robinson, Jr. will represent new Parish President Michael Yenni on the JEDCO Board. He serves as the Chief Executive Officer of Ochsner Medical Center- Kenner with over 14 years of progressive health care leadership. Stephen is a fellow in the American College of Healthcare Executives and has previously served on the United Way Council for St. Tammany Parish, the North Shore Business Council and the North Shore Healthcare Alliance.

The Women’s Business Enterprise Council-South nominated Teresa Lawrence to represent the organization on the JEDCO Board. She is the owner of Delta Personnel, a staffing agency based out of Metairie. Teresa is a graduate of the Goldman Sachs 10,000 Small Businesses Program as well as a representative on the Women’s Enterprise National Forum. Teresa has won a number of awards and recognition over the years, including the 2016 Enterprising Women of the Year award, the 2015 Jefferson Chamber’s Women Owned Business of the Year, the 2015 Ernst and Young Women of Odyssey, the 2015 Women Business Enterprise National Council Business Star award, and many others. Teresa belongs to the Louisiana Minority Business Council Board, the Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, and the Executive Women International Board. She is also the regional director for the Women’s Business Enterprise-South.

Chris Roberts, the Councilman-at-Large for Division A, appointed Lloyd Clark to serve as his representative on the JEDCO Board. Lloyd is a lifelong resident of the Jefferson Parish West Bank. He worked in the Jefferson Parish Public School System as a teacher, Dean of Students, School Administrator, and Supervisor of Child Welfare and Attendance. He retired in 2008 and serves as a board member of the Jefferson Financial Credit Union, Jefferson Community Health Center, and the Prince Hall Youth Board. Lloyd is also a military veteran.

Dr. Larissa Littleton-Steib, PhD, was nominated by the Greater New Orleans Black Chamber of Commerce to serve on the JEDCO Board. Larissa is the Vice Chancellor for Workforce Development and Technical Education at Delgado Community College. She is on the Board of Directors for the Harvey Canal Industrial Association, Job 1 Workforce Investment Board, the Jefferson Parish Workforce Investment Board, CASA Jefferson and the Jefferson Chamber of Commerce. She currently serves as co-chair of the Louisiana Community & Technical College System Workforce Development Steering Committee. Larissa was honored by New Orleans CityBusiness as one of the honorees for the 2014 Women of the Year program.

Mikal P. Adler will join the JEDCO Board in April 2016 as a representative for the Jefferson Business Council. Mikal is Of Council in the Blue Williams Metairie office and has been with the firm since 1993. His practice consists primarily of general corporate, business and contractual work. He is a member of the Louisiana State Bar Association, Louisiana Association of Defense Council, Louisiana Trial Lawyers Association, New Orleans Claims Association, New Orleans Bar Association and the Jefferson Parish Bar Association.

The JEDCO Board of Commissioners appointed Mark Madderra to serve as the 2016 Chairman of the Board. Mark represents the Apartment Association of Greater New Orleans and has served on the JEDCO Board for five years in a number of capacities. Mark started J.M. Madderra & Company, Inc., a Metairie based Commercial Mortgage Banking firm, in 1993. He is a real estate investment banker with over 30 years of experience in mortgage banking, representing institutional investors in the financing of commercial and multi-family property. J.M. Madderra & Co. is now a part of Madderra, Cazalot & Head with offices in Dallas, Atlanta and New Orleans.

Mark is also an officer of the Louisiana Apartment Association and a past President of the Apartment Association of Greater New Orleans. He became a member in 1994 and continues to serve on its board. In 2016, Mark became a member of the Jefferson Business Council (JBC). Previously, Mark served as a Commissioner to the Louisiana Housing Finance Agency (LHFA) from 2001 through 2011. From 2005 to 2010, he served as Chairman of the LHFA Multi-Family Committee. This committee reviewed all matters concerning Low Income Housing Tax Credits and Tax Exempt Bonds. Mark has also served on the boards of the Home Builders of Greater New Orleans, Boy Scouts of America, and the Metropolitan Area Council.

The Jefferson Parish President nominates one representative to serve on the JEDCO Board of Commissioners. The Parish Council nominates seven members and 13 board appointees represent local business organizations. Business representatives serve five years. Those board members nominated by the Parish Council and President serve for the duration of the nominator’s term in office.

2016 Board of Commissioners
Nominating Organization
Mark Madderra – Chairman
Apartment Association of
Greater New Orleans
Bruce Layburn – Vice Chair
Home Builder’s Association
Mario Bazile – Treasurer
Cynthia Lee-Sheng, Councilwoman-at-Large, Div. B
Jimmy Baum – Secretary
Elmwood Business Association
Brian Heiden
Jefferson Chamber of Commerce
West Bank
Teresa Lawrence
Women’s Business Enterprise
Council – South
Bruce Dantin
Councilman Paul D. Johnston, District 2
Joe Ewell
Councilman Mark Spears, Jr, District 3
Mikal Adler
Jefferson Business Council
Greg Jordan
Jefferson Chamber of Commerce
East Bank
Roy Gattuso
Councilman Ricky Templet, District 1
Lloyd Clark
Chris Roberts, Councilman-at-Large, Div. A
Joe Liss
Councilwoman Jennifer Van Vrancken, District 5
Dr. Larissa Littleton-Steib
Greater New Orleans Black Chamber of Commerce
Stephen Robinson, Jr.
Parish President Michael Yenni
Lynda Nugent-Smith
New Orleans Metropolitan Association of Realtors
Bill Peperone
Councilman E. “Ben” Zahn III, District 4
Mayra Pineda
Hispanic Chamber of Commerce of Louisiana
Paul Rivera (2015 Chair)
JP Marine Fisheries Advisory Board
Stan Salathe
Harvey Canal Industrial Association