Press Releases

JEDCO Announces 2015 Officers & New Commissioner

(Avondale, La) – The Jefferson Parish Economic Development Commission (JEDCO) is pleased to introduce the 2015 Board of Commissioners and Board Officers to the community. The individuals who serve on the JEDCO Board represent area business organizations and parish leaders. They work closely with the JEDCO staff to achieve the organization’s mission of attracting, retaining and expanding business in Jefferson Parish.

PaulRiveraThe JEDCO Board of Commissioners appointed Paul Rivera as the 2015 Chairman of the Board. In 2014, he served as the Vice Chair of the JEDCO Board. Paul represents the J.P. Marine Fisheries Advisory Board and he is the Chief Financial Officer for the Jefferson Parish Sheriff’s Office, overseeing the finance and budget process, the accounting and payroll functions, and the financial reporting and investment functions. When Paul isn’t working, he is active in the community. He has served on a variety of professional and civic associations throughout his career, including the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, the Louisiana Society of Certified Public Accountants, the Boy Scouts of America, and Visitation of Our Lady Catholic Church in a variety of capacities.

Brian_HeidenBrian Heiden is the newest commissioner to serve on the JEDCO Board. Nominated by the Jefferson Chamber of Commerce – West Bank, Brian is the Senior Vice President and Commercial Lender at the Manhattan Office of Gulf Coast Bank and Trust. Brian has been a West Bank resident since 1965, serving a variety of local organizations, including the Harvey Canal Industrial Association, the West Bank Rotary Club of Gretna, the West Bank Boys & Girls Club, and the Archbishop Shaw High School Alumni Association. Brian also served on the Crescent City Task Force Commission and the Southeast Louisiana Flood Protection Authority Nomination Committee.

The Jefferson Parish President nominates one representative to serve on the JEDCO Board of Commissioners. The Parish Council nominates seven members and 13 board appointees represent local business organizations. Business representatives serve five years. Those board members nominated by the Parish Council and President serve for the duration of the nominator’s term in office.

2015 Board of Commissioners          Nominating Organization

Paul Rivera – Chairman                               J.P. Marine Fisheries Advisory Board

Mark Madderra – Vice Chairman              Apartment Association of Greater N.O.

Bruce Layburn – Treasurer                         Home Builders Association

Mario Bazile – Secretary                             District 5 – Cynthia Lee-Sheng



Jimmy Baum                                                   Elmwood Business Association

Tina Dandry-Mayes                                       Women Business Council Gulf Coast

Bruce Dantin                                                   District 2 – Paul Johnston

Joe Ewell (Past Chair)                                   District 3 – Mark Spears

Jim Garvey (Past Chair)                                Committee for a Better Jefferson

Brian Heiden                                                   Jefferson Chamber of Commerce – West Bank

Greg Jordan (Past Chair)                              Jefferson Chamber of Commerce – East Bank

Roy Gattuso                                                     District 1 – Ricky Templet

Steve LaChute                                                 Councilman-at-Large, Division A – Chris Roberts

Joe Liss                                                             East Jefferson Business Association

Dr. Vinicio Madrigal (Past Chair)                Parish President – John Young

Lynda Nungent-Smith (Past Chair)             N.O. Metropolitan Association of Realtors

Bill Peperone (Past Chair)                             District 4 – Ben Zahn

Mayra Pineda                                                   Hispanic Chamber of Commerce

Mike Rongey                                                  Councilman-at-Large, Division B – Elton Lagasse

Stan Salathe (Past Chair)                              Harvey Canal Industrial Association